Why Maharashtra State Urdu Academy Has No Ex. Chairman?

MUMBAI :Urdu community of Maharashtra has  been distressed that despite state government appointed new Chairman to other two minority institutions , Maharashtra State Urdu Academy is still  working without an Executive Chairman .

The last  executive chairman Mr. Rauf Khan expired in 2016 .State government recently appointed a BJP leader Syed Hyder Azam as the chairman of Maulana Azad Minorities Financial Development Corporation .This post had been lying vacant since the BJP came to power in the state .

Former Minority Minister Eknath Khadse appointed his trusted loyalists Hussain Ahmed Khan @ Amir Saheb as Chairman Maharashtra State Minorities Commission , and Rauf Khan as Execitive Chairman Maharashtra State Urdu Academy .Both these Khan brothers were Khadse’s trusted political aids from Jalgaon district .Rauf Khan expired due to heart attack in 2016 .Hussain Khan was removed from the post .It was a first case where state government removed  a Chairman of Maharashtra State Minorities Commission before he completed his tenure .

A Shiv Sena leader Haji Arafat Shaikh got this crucial post but he had to resign from Shiv – Sena , and he joined BJP within days of being appointed as Chairman of  state Minorities Commission .But government has not yet decided about who will be the next Executive Chairman of  Maharashtra State Urdu Academy .

It is reported that more than a dozen persons form Urdu literature , Education and politics have applied for the post .Many are lobbying for them at the highest level of government and politicians .The government is delaying the decision .Ministry sources says that there is intense fight among the contenders but insiders say that soon State Urdu academy may get a new Executive Chairman .

Relevant files are lying with Minister Vinod tawde and CM fadnavis for final nod .But some Urdu writers demanded that only persons with literary or education background must be appointed on this post .In past, some politicians were also appointed as Executive Chairman and Members of  this sahitya Academy .



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.