Maharashtra Waqf Tribunal Formed

MUMBAI: Maharashtra government has established a 3 member State Waqf Tribunal at Aurangabad, through a GR issued by Minority welfare Department .A member of state judicial services Shri Abdul Salim Ahmed Hussain Shahpure has been nominated as the Chairman of the tribunal .

Shri Abdul Salim Shahpure holds the post of a civil judge .The Waqf act 1995, amended in 2013  ,  stipulates that the Chairman of the state Waqf tribunal must be a judicial officer having a rank of district, or session’s judge. Shri  Abdul Salim Sahpure was earlier the presiding officer of a single member  state Waqf tribunal .But the amended Waqf rule stipulated that there must be a 3 member Waqf Tribunal to hear and dispose -off  waqf related cases .

A writ petition was filed in Bombay High court .The High Court division bench consisting of   Justice Abhay Oka and Justice Amjad Syed directed the state government to establish a 3 member Waqf Tribunal at Aurangabad .The High Court also directed the government to provide necessary staff and infrastructure , for the tribunal .

The stat government following the direction of High Court, issued the said GR, to form the 3 member waqf tribunal .The other 2 members of Maharashtra Waqf Tribunal are:

  • Shri Khalid B. Arab, deputy secretary, Law and Judiciary department , Govt of Maharashtra , Mantaralaya .
  • Mohammed Iqbal,Hussain .

According to GR, the waqf rule says that government must nominate a member from state administrative services , as one member , and other member must be an expert of Islamic laws and jurisprudence , and he must be a respectable member of public.

Therefore , Shri Khalid B Arab , a high ranking Muslim officer from state cadre has been transferred to the Waqf Tribunal , Aurangabad .The state government appointed Adov. Mohammed Iqbal Hussain , as the other member, as an expert of Islamic laws and jurisprudence .

There are 1453 cases pending before state waqf tribunal , which include cases from Aurangabad , Mumbai , Ahmed Nagar and Pune .



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.